Just saw this short piece on Good Machine, my first real employer, from 1997, just a year after I was working there.

I posted some thoughts there in the comments about it, but it doesn’t really capture all the strong memories and feelings I have for that office on West 25th.  I guess it tells me something about the power of a concentrated experience in one’s life to shape and inform so many of the experiences that follow.  I soaked up so much of that year and a half (not even) I lived in NYC, and now I carry them around with me constantly and they really do shape things I do on a daily basis.

Perhaps that’s because I teach production, but it’s more than that.  Good Machine was, for me, a company that stood for something, a company with ideals that wasn’t afraid to work hard to try to achieve them.  To see men and women incorporating a healthy idealism into their day to day work was inspiring to me at a level that runs deeper than the specifics I learned about production practices.  At some level, I became a professor because I knew that’s what I wanted to do most.  Knowing that people like Ted and James were finding ways to do what they wanted to do most, even if they were sacrificing other things they knew they could have, was important knowledge to bring with me that helped me through some reasonably crappy times.

Good Machine was Good Times.

